Film Studies Awards

Each year the Film Studies Program offers a number of academic awards.

Mark Estrin Graduating Senior Award

This award, which is determined by faculty nomination, is presented to a graduating film studies major at the Cap and Gown Convocation each spring for exhibiting exemplary scholarship and/or creative work and for demonstrating leadership within the program. It is named after Professor Mark Estrin, a long-time faculty member and co-founder of the Film Studies Program. His passion for film and commitment to excellence inspired generations of film studies students.

2023 Estrin Award Winner:

Angelica DiMaio

Talent Awards

This is a tuition-based, financial scholarship that recognizes and supports new and emerging film talent. Full-time film studies majors and minors, who are in good standing, are eligible to apply for 1) a video and/or film production award or 2) a screenwriting award. The director of film studies will send out an announcement each spring semester to all film studies majors and minors with information about the application process and deadline. A committee of film studies faculty members will evaluate all submitted projects and determine the distribution of Talent Award monies. This scholarship is awarded each spring semester for the following academic year.

Fall 2023/Spring 2024 Talent Award Winners:

Tai Bacani, Emily Daltorio, Sophia DiNaro, Elias Frawley Gendron, Isaiah Gamboa, Alexander Geil, Finnegan Johnson, Tristan Lacourse, Devin Miller, and Jonathan Pineda

Tess Hoffman Scholarship

This is a tuition-based financial scholarship awarded to a film studies major who has exhibited exemplary scholarship. Requirements include the completion of at least 60 credit hours and at least one semester left at RIC. All eligible students are automatically considered by film studies faculty for this scholarship. The Tess Hoffman Scholarship was funded by a generous bequest from the estate of Professor Tess Hoffman, a long-time faculty member and co-founder of the Film Studies Program. This scholarship is awarded each spring.

Fall 2023/Spring 2024 Tess Hoffman Scholarship Recipients:

Emily Daltorio, Sophia DiNaro, and Michelle Miller