Mary Tucker Thorp photo

The Mary Tucker Thorp College Professorship is awarded each academic year to a full professor with at least six years of service at Rhode Island College who has demonstrated excellence in teaching along with excellence in scholarship and/ or excellence in professional and collegial service. The professorship honors the contributions of Mary Tucker Thorp, whose illustrious career at the college spanned the time period of 1926–1967.

Candidates for the Thorp College Professorship are evaluated by a college-wide committee composed of faculty from the Faculty of Arts and Science, the Feinstein School of Education and Human Development, the School of Management, the School of Nursing, the School of Social Work, and the Adams Library. The appointment is made by the college president.

Selection and appointment criteria include demonstrated excellence in teaching along with excellence in scholarship and/or excellence in service. 

Funds to support the Thorp College Professorship were provided by a generous bequest in the will of Mary Tucker Thorp and are held in the Tucker Thorp Fund, which is administered by the Rhode Island College Foundation.  Starting in 2004-05 the Thorp Professorship became a college-wide award.

signs of RIC at entrance

About Mary Tucker Thorp

Mary Tucker Thorp was a graduate of the Rhode Island College of Education. In 1926, she began her forty-year tenure at the college where she served as a professor of education until 1967. In 1961, the college's first residence hall was named in her honor. The Thorp College Professorship, is awarded to an outstanding faculty member, in recognition of her legacy of scholarship and service to the RIC community. - From Rhode Island College: Meeting the State's Needs Through Time


Alex and ani building with RIC flame sculpture

2021 Mary Tucker Thorp Honoree

Insert information on the 2021 honoree here.

Mary Tucker Thorp College Professorship

Previous Honorees


Susan Abbotson, English, 2015-16

Pamela Irving Jackson, Sociology, 2013-14

Kathryn Kalinak, English, 2011-12

Meredith McMunn, English, 2008-09

Ying Zhou, Mathematics and Computer Science, 2007-08

Ronald Dufour, History, 2006-07

Maureen Reddy, English, 2005-06

Frederick G. Reamer, Social Work, 2004-05

Mary Tucker Thorp Award

Previous Honorees

Prior to 2004, there were three Mary Tucker Thorp awards, one each in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, School of Social Work, and the Feinstein School of Education and Human Development. The FAS Thorp Award was for outstanding scholarly or creative activity, the FSEHD Thorp Award was for distinguished teaching, and the SSW Thorp Award rotated among outstanding scholarship, distinguished teaching, and excellent service.



Jeannine Olson, History



James Barton, Elementary Education
Jayashree Nimmagadda, Social Work



Cathleen M. Calbert, English



Peter S. Allen, Anthropology
Karen S. Castagno, Health and Physical Education
Daniel Weisman, Social Work



Barbara A. Schapiro, English 
Felicia Wilczenski, Education
Julie E. Wollman-Bonilla, Education



Carolyn Fluehr-Lobban, Anthropology 
C. David Brell, Education
Patricia Medeiros-Landurand, Education



Richard A. Lobban, Anthropology
William J. Oehlkers, Education



Yael Avissar, Biology
Carolyn P. Panofsky, Education



Thomas E. Malloy, Biology
Sharon M. Fennessey, Education



Peter Meyer, Physical Sciences 
Patricia A. Cordeiro, Elementary Education
Elizabeth H. Rowell, Elementary Education



Stephen E. Fisher, Art
Nancy H. Gewirtz, Social Work



Curtis K. Lafollette, Arts and Sciences
Joan C. Bloom, Education
Ellsworth A. Starring, Education



Amritjit Singh, English
John J. Gleason, Education



Judith L. Stillman, Music
Mary Ann Bromley, Education



Edythe L. Anthony, Biology
Judith H. Dimeo, Education



Terence E. Hays, Anthropology
Frederick G. Reamer, Social Work



J. Stanley Lemons, History
Joan I. Glazer, Education



Harriet Brisson, Art
A. Anthony Antosh, Special Education



Charles J. Marzzacco, Arts and Sciences



William H. Robinson, Arts and Sciences 
Nancy H. Gewirtz, Social Work
Victoria S. Lederberg, Education
Ezra L. Stieglitz, Elementary Education



S. Salman Wasti, Arts and Sciences 
Rose C. Merenda, Education
S. Scott Mueller, Social Work



Sally J. Marks, Arts and Sciences
Marilyn G. Eanet, Education
Joan I. Glazer, Education
Clyde C. Slicker, Education



Alene F. Silver, Arts and Sciences
Richard L. Dickson, Education
James J. Rubovits, Education
Paul V. Sherlock, Special Education



Lillian D. Bloom, Arts and Sciences 
Thomas F. Lavery, Education
Sidney P. Rollins, Education
Robert T. Rude, Elementary Education



Nancy Sullivan, English
Joan I. Glazer, Education
Anne K. Petry, Education
Sheri L. Smith, Education​​