Beverly Goldfield

Dr. Beverly Goldfield, Professor of Psychology, works with students Melissa Marcotte, Tabitha Newman, and Lauren Whittle to study early language development.


Faculty Development Fund

The purpose of the Faculty Development Fund is to support faculty development and professional activities, focusing on acquiring and developing knowledge, skills, and abilities that will enhance faculty performance in teaching, scholarly work, advising, and service activities. Ideally, this fund is an investment in the individual faculty member or group of faculty with additional benefit accruing to the college and its students. Money from the Faculty Development Fund is intended to supplement, but not supplant, funds from other sources that are part of the regular College Budget and from grants.

The Faculty Development Fund is established through negotiations between the Rhode Island Board of Governors of Higher Education and RIC/AFT Local 1819. The amount of the fund and composition of its award committee is determined as part of these negotiations. The committee is made up two representatives designated by the President of the College and three representatives designated by President of the RIC/AFT. All proposals are reviewed by the committee, which makes its funding recommendations to the President of the College. Authority for awarding Faculty Development Funds is under control of the President of the College, with awards announced jointly to faculty by the President of the College and President of the RIC/AFT.

Announcements of current funding cycles and key dates for application and award information are made to all faculty. At that time, current application materials will become available here for download and review. Links to the current or most recent application guidelines, as well as prior awardees and their project titles, are below.

Faculty Development Committee Members

The Faculty Development Fund Committee functions at the request of the President of the College and the President of the RIC/AFT. It is operational only during the application submission and review cycle. E. Pierre Morenon (Anthropology) has served as chair of the committee for several previous cycles. Committee members Randy DeSimone (Management and Marketing), Charles McLaughlin (Educational Studies) and Lisa Smolski (ORGA) join the chair in bringing considerable experience, expertise, and consistency to the process. Bonnie MacDonald, Director of the Faculty Center for Teaching and Learning and Professor of Communication, is starting her second year as committee member. All committee members are named and posted on the ORGA web site as appropriate to the funding cycle.

Applicant Information

The 2016-17 Faculty Development Fund application cycle is now CLOSED. Please see the Awardee list below for the Awardees and Projects from the 2014-2015 or 2015-2016 cycle.

Below are links to information about the application process from previous years.

Adobe PDF2016-2017 FDF Information & Guidelines
2016-2017 FDF Cover Sheet

Prior Awardees & Projects

This page contains content in PDF format. You must have the Adobe Acrobat Reader to view this content, click here to download it for free.

Page last updated: Thursday, April 14, 2016