The Mary Tucker Thorp College Professorship is awarded each academic year to a full professor with at least six years of service at Rhode Island College who has demonstrated excellence in teaching, along with excellence in scholarship and/ or excellence in professional and collegial service. The professorship honors the contributions of Mary Tucker Thorp, whose illustrious career at the college spanned the time period of 1926–1967.

2023 Recipient, Dr. Vince Bohlinger

Vincent Bohlinger

Dr. Bohlinger Presents the Mary Tucker Thorp Professorship Lecture

My Adventures with Ukrainian Cinema

Dr. Bohlinger will offer an overview of his research over the years in Soviet and Post-Soviet film and chart his growing interest in contemporary Ukrainian cinema, escalated by Russia’s full-scale attack on Ukraine.

  • March 20, 2024, 4 pm
  • Alger Hall, Room 110, reception to follow

More on Dr. Bohlinger and his Scholarship

About Mary Tucker Thorp

Mary Tucker Thorp

Mary Tucker Thorp was a graduate of the Rhode Island College of Education. In 1926, she began her forty-year tenure at the college where she served as a professor of education until 1967. In 1961, the college's first residence hall was named in her honor. The Thorp College Professorship is awarded to an outstanding faculty member in recognition of her legacy of scholarship and service to the RIC community.

Candidate Evaluation

Candidates for the Thorp College Professorship are evaluated by a college-wide committee composed of faculty from the Faculty of Arts and Science, the Feinstein School of Education and Human Development, the School of Business, the Onanian School of Nursing, the School of Social Work, and the Adams Library. The appointment is made by the college president.

Selection and appointment criteria include demonstrated excellence in teaching along with excellence in scholarship and/or excellence in service. 

Award Funding

Funds to support the Thorp College Professorship were provided by a generous bequest in the will of Mary Tucker Thorp and are held in the Tucker Thorp Fund, which is administered by the Rhode Island College Foundation. Starting in 2004–2005 the Thorp Professorship became a college-wide award.


Help the Award Continue

Support the Mary Tucker Thorp Memorial fund!

Previous Honorees

  • Zubeda Jalalzai, English, 2019-2020
  • Susan Abbotson, English, 2015-2016
  • Pamela Irving Jackson, Sociology, 2013-2014
  • Kathryn Kalinak, English, 2011-2012
  • Meredith McMunn, English, 2008-2009
  • Ying Zhou, Mathematics and Computer Science, 2007-2008
  • Ronald Dufour, History, 2006-2007
  • Maureen Reddy, English, 2005-2006
  • Frederick G. Reamer, Social Work, 2004-2005
  • James F. Barton, Elementary Education, 2003-2004
  • Pamela I. Jackson, Sociology, 2003-2004
  • Jayashree Nimmagadda, Social Work, 2002-2003
  • Jeannine Olson, History, 2002-2003
  • Cathleen M. Calbert, English, 2001-2002
  • Daniel Weisman, Social Work, 2001-2002
  • Peter S. Allen, Anthropology, 2000-2001
  • Karen S. Castagno, Health and Physical Education, 2000-2001
  • Daniel Weisman, Social Work, 2000-2001
  • Carolyn Fluehr-Lobban, Anthropology, 1998-1999
  • C. David Brell, Education, 1998-1999
  • Patricia Medeiros-Landurand, Education, 1998-1999
  • Richard A. Lobban, Anthropology, 1997-1998
  • William J. Oehlkers, Education, 1997-1998
  • Yael Avissar, Biology, 1996-1997
  • Carolyn P. Panofsky, Education, 1996-1997
  • Thomas E. Malloy, Biology, 1995-1996
  • Sharon M. Fennessey, Education, 1995-1996
  • Peter Meyer, Physical Sciences, 1994-1995
  • Patricia A. Cordeiro, Elementary Education, 1994-1995
  • Elizabeth H. Rowell, Elementary Education, 1994-1995
  • Stephen E. Fisher, Art, 1993-1994
  • Nancy H. Gewirtz, Social Work, 1993-1994
  • Curtis K. Lafollette, Arts and Sciences, 1992-1993 
  • Joan C. Bloom, Education, 1992-1993
  • Ellsworth A. Starring, Education, 1992-1993
  • Amritjit Singh, English, 1991-1992
  • John J. Gleason, Education, 1991-1992
  • Judith Lynn Stillman, Music, 1990-1991 
  • Mary Ann Bromley, Education, 1990-1991
  • Edythe L. Anthony, Biology, 1989-1990
  • Judith H. Dimeo, Education, 1989-1990
  • Terence E. Hays, Anthropology, 1988-1989
  • Frederick G. Reamer, Social Work, 1988-1989
  • J. Stanley Lemons, History, 1987-1988
  • Joan I. Glazer, Education, 1987-1988
  • Harriet Brisson, Art, 1986-1987
  • A. Anthony Antosh, Special Education, 1986-1987
  • Charles J. Marzzacco, Arts and Sciences, 1985-1986
  • William H. Robinson, Arts and Sciences, 1984-1985
  • Nancy H. Gewirtz, Social Work,1984-1985
  • Victoria S. Lederberg, Education, 1984-1985
  • Ezra L. Stieglitz, Elementary Education, 1984-1985
  • S. Salman Wasti, Arts and Sciences, 1983-1984
  • Rose C. Merenda, Education, 1983-1984
  • S. Scott Mueller, Social Work, 1983-1984
  • Sally J. Marks, Arts and Sciences, 1982-1983
  • Marilyn G. Eanet, Education, 1982-1983
  • Joan I. Glazer, Education, 1982-1983
  • Clyde C. Slicker, Education, 1982-1983
  • Alene F. Silver, Arts and Sciences, 1981-1982
  • Richard L. Dickson, Education, 1981-1982
  • James J. Rubovits, Education, 1981-1982
  • Paul V. Sherlock, Special Education, 1981-1982
  • Lillian D. Bloom, Arts and Sciences, 1980-1981 
  • Thomas F. Lavery, Education, 1980-1981
  • Sidney P. Rollins, Education, 1980-1981
  • Robert T. Rude, Elementary Education, 1980-1981
  • Nancy Sullivan, English, 1979-1980
  • Joan I. Glazer, Education, 1979-1980
  • Anne K. Petry, Education, 1979-1980
  • Sheri L. Smith, Education​​, 1979-1980
Rhode Island College entrance

For More Information

Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

The Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs is the chief academic officer at Rhode Island College.